Could Technology be doing our students a disservice?

Many people believe that I am an utter technology addict, while in fact, I am a huge fan of the tools that can help the instructional process, but I know that not every bell and whistle has a place in the classroom.

 

I may tell the kids I am lazy when it comes to research, but I am only lazy when it comes to the time-consuming task of finding credible sources, which is why I go straight to the academic databases before I even think about Google when I am doing important research.

 

I am a Google addict, but I am acutely aware that Google returns the most popular hits, not the most reliable ones. Our students are Google-hoppers, jumping back and forth, grabbing an information byte here, another there, often forgetting to cite and mostly cutting-and-pasting the bytes together, cobbling together a shallow, broad overview of a topic, not committing the information to their long-term memories, and this is a challenge we all face as educators.

 

This article echoes those sentiments as well as voicing a few concerns that have lain dormant in the back of my mind for a couple of years.

It may be some good thinking material for winter break…

Researcher: Technology Might Be Returning Us to Stone Age-Thinking

Children and adult minds are changing because of the internet and smart phones—putting more pressure on schools to teach deeper thinking

One thought on “Could Technology be doing our students a disservice?

Leave a Reply

